Proverbs 10:19 – Gossip


Image courtesy of artur84 at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Image courtesy of artur84 at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Proverbs 10:19 – Where there are many words, transgression is unavoidable, But he who restrains his lips is wise.


Gossip.  Lies.

Even the word looks awful.

There are very few things in life that I would shove into the category of “hate” but gossip is one of those things.  If there is such a thing as a useful weapon for Satan, gossip is it.

Gossip has the power to :

  • ruin someone’s reputation
  • smear someone’s good name
  • cause dissent between people
  • sway opinions
  • break trust
  • demolish friendships
  • emotionally hurt people
  • breed anger and sometimes violence
  • spread feelings of hopelessness
  • and on and on and on this list goes….

All of it caused because of two things…

  1. A person’s need to feel “special”, even for just a moment OR a person’s malicious intent.
  2. A lack of self-control.

Most gossip starts out innocently enough.  People don’t intend to be mean when they make an off-hand comment about someone else.  Sometimes the gossip being shared may be 100% true.  That doesn’t make it any less hurtful.  Many people gossip just to have something to say, or something to share with others.  It’s still gossip.

If it isn’t your personal experience, it isn’t yours to share.

Keep your tongue from evil and your lips from speaking deceit. Psalm 34:13 (NKJV)


I work full-time in a small office with a handful of other women.  People wonder why I’m “the quiet one”.  I’m not mute.  I can speak.  I am able share my opinions when I choose to.  I am intelligent.  And I can go days without speaking anything more than, “Good morning” when I arrive at work and, “I’ll see you tomorrow” as I’m leaving.

It’s called thinking about the words I want to say BEFORE letting them out of my mouth.  It’s called observing the world and the people in it, or being of the world but not mired in it.  It’s called caring more for the people I know than for idle chit chat.  It’s called – SELF CONTROL.

My prayer today and everyday is for God to help me honor HIM in all I say and do.

And while I can’t make myself deaf when gossip is going on, I can honor God by not letting it pass my own lips.


One thought on “Proverbs 10:19 – Gossip

  1. ladygardeenya

    That is a good topic. The experiences you have had with regard to gossip are many more than most of us have had to deal with. I’ve had to deal with my share of gossipy people and I have been harmed by a few of them. Gossip can be so destructive. Most people who do this are not even aware of being the culprit. It is sad when one’s whole life is tied to discussing personal things about others. I would really hate to live a life which requires me to denigrate others to make myself feel superior. Thank you for addressing this issue.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

