Matthew 18:1-4 – Become like children…


Matthew 18:1-4 

At that time the disciples came to Jesus and said, “Who then is greatest in the kingdom of heaven?” And He called a child to Himself and set him before them, and said, “Truly I say to you, unless you are converted and become like children, you will not enter the kingdom of heaven. Whoever then humbles himself as this child, he is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven.


  • Children are inquisitive
  • They are trusting
  • They see the good around them
  • They forgive easily
  • They don’t care how their friends look, they just want to play
  • They are willing to learn – everything!

We are supposed to become more like children in our walk with God…so why aren’t our devotionals more like theirs?  Why are they always so serious?  Why so long?  Why not a short daily devotional with a couple of activities to keep it fun?

WHYYY??? (And yes, if you know of an adult FUN devotional…let me know in the comments!)

My son is part of CEF’s Truth Chasers Club Truth Chasers Club  In addition to Bible lesson sets that come through the mail, he also received a 30 day devotional booklet that is really cool!

ESV EDWG BOOK 01

This little devotional is super fun.  It has a short reading, then some question/answer matches, then it’s followed by another thought, then another short activity (a short word search, or dot-to-dot, or code breaker) and ends with a short prayer.  The goal is to get children in the habit of having a quiet time every day where they focus on God.  You can see it here:  CEF Press

And for the record, the only affiliation I have with CEF is that my son takes part in the Truth Chasers Club and we see their booth at the County Fair every year.  I’m giving them an awesome review because they deserve it.  My son loves his lessons, was gifted with an ESV Bible with his name on it after completing 2 lesson sets (about 12 or 13 lessons through the mail), and now has been gifted with this devotional.

It’s an amazing program that really gets the knowledge into the kids in a friendly, fun way.


I do believe there are times that we, as Christians, need to be serious.  But I also believe that sometimes we can be “too” serious.  My time with God is not relegated to a specific hour set aside.  God gets my time throughout the day as I give thanks for my meals, or as I’m spacing out doing the multitude of brain-numbing tasks at work.  God is always there, in my thoughts.  Sometimes I’m singing praise to Him as I wake up in the morning.

I don’t always have a specific hour or half hour to devote to Him in solitude.  Throughout the day though, I wind up devoting more than that to Him.  He makes my heart happy and I can’t help but turn to Him.

When I am “formally” praying for the needs of others…I am serious.

But sometimes…just sometimes…I’d like a 5 minute fun activity that gets me focused on Him.  And THAT is what we adults are missing.  God is serious business, but I think He has a sense of humor too, otherwise I can’t imagine Him giving one to us.

Have fun and praise God!

To His Glory~

One thought on “Matthew 18:1-4 – Become like children…

  1. ladygardeenya

    This is an amazing look at how a young child can learn and grow in Christ. I am amazed at how much this 8 year old has learned from a few fun activities. He started out just doing the work so that he could earn a Bible with his name on it. Then he advanced and got his Bible, but with it came the daily devotional along with more by mail lessons. He is still going and growing. I agree that adults need something similar. The activities set the lesson in the mind.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

