Ezekiel 18:20 – Personal Responsibility


Ezekiel

“This is total B.S.  It is!”
“What is?” I ask.
“My home owner’s insurance is going to lapse!”
“Did you pay the bill?” I ask.
“I never got a bill! This is total B.S. My insurance company never sent me a bill, but they faxed the info to my mortgage company. They tell them but no one told me!”
“Isn’t this something you pay every year?” I ask.
“Well, yes… but I forgot and they have to send me notices and I never received any of them! You’d think someone would have called and told me!  I’m going to switch company’s, this is their fault!”


I witnessed an episode of “passing the buck” today and it got me thinking about the issue of personal responsibility in the life of a Christian.  So I did some internet searches to see what the Bible had to say about personal responsibility.

There are actually many verses and examples of personal responsibility in the Bible.  I chose Ezekiel 18:20 because to me it clearly states that we are responsible for our own actions and will be held accountable.

For a huge list of verses pertaining to personal responsibility check out:  http://www.openbible.info/topics/personal_responsibility


We all witness people “passing the buck” when they do something wrong, or when they forget something.  Finger pointing and blaming ensues.  It’s not a pretty sight.  It’s made even worse if we catch ourselves doing it.

As Christians, personal responsibility is kind of a foundational thing for our beliefs.  We are all sinners and we all must make a choice to accept Jesus Christ as our Savior.  It’s every person’s personal responsibility.  We get that.  We even tell others about the Gospel and what they need to do to be saved.  But are we applying this foundational principle to all aspects of our lives?

We should be.

How often do excuses escape our lips?  Rather than the simple and honest reply of, “that was my fault.”

How often do we find ourselves justifying our actions because of this, that, or the other thing that happened?

When faced with confrontation, is our first instinct to remain humble, or do we immediately get defensive?

When facing bad decisions, made alone or jointly, do we accept our part of the responsibility?  Or, do we point fingers because we were hurt too?

It’s a tough issue.  No one likes to take the blame when things go wrong.  It’s certainly easy to stand up and be prideful when things go right though, huh?  God gives and God takes away.  He blesses AND He humbles.

Each lesson is important.

Are we open to learning both?

2 thoughts on “Ezekiel 18:20 – Personal Responsibility

  1. ladygardeenya

    It amazes me how we have to fight this very thing from day to day. This hit me hard, since just yesterday I realized I had started procrastinating. This is the very thing that has been a pet peeve of mine through the years. I took responsibility for that, but it took me a long time to be able say the words. Wow! You hit it just right. Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Tawni Post author

      Perspective is a funny thing. I’ve been trying to get you to procrastinate on the little things for years! Makes life easier I think ~laughs~.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

