Quick Update…


I haven’t been posting much lately but this blog is not forgotten.  I stepped away from the blog for reasons that I posted previously and I am so glad that I did.  I am still on my Bible reading plan that will have me reading the entire Bible by December and I am still loving every minute of it!

I became a Christian in 2013 and shortly after coming to Christ, various goals began forming in my heart.  I wanted to change; more importantly, I needed to change.  I didn’t want to be one of “those” Christians who say they believe and yet no one can tell unless they specifically ask.

Well, suffice it to say…I’m getting there.  God has put such a desire for change in my heart that I can do nothing else but hold on tight and watch Him work within me.  I love it!

I wanted to quit smoking………Check!

Labor day of 2014 I quit.  No build up, no stress, no planning, no help.  That week I had a strong urge to quit and I did.  God took the desire to smoke from me and made it so easy to accomplish.  Not one craving since!

I wanted to find a church to go to for the first time in my life……Check!

Found one in the latter part of 2014 and have been attending semi-regular ever since.

I wanted to find contentment and peace being single….Check!

God is proving over and over again just how “enough” He is.

I wanted to learn to trust again…..Check!

This one is an on-going progression but over the past 2 years, He is showing me repeatedly that when I let go, surrender to His will, everything works out beautifully.

I wanted to not be isolated anymore…..Check!

These past 2 years has brought so much healing among family members there are no words to describe it.  It used to be I thought I had no family and God is showing me that I do have family and in abundance.

The point of this list is to show just how many changes have taken place in such a short time.  The minute I think He’s done, something else comes up and my heart urges me in another direction.  I am having so much trouble focusing on any one thing because the minute I do, my heart pulls me in another direction.

The past couple months I’ve had a difficult time making myself go to church.  I am such an introvert and shy that meeting new people and being around a lot of people is downright painful for me.  But I confided in a friend who offered to pray for me on this issue.  I emailed my sister who said, sometimes it just takes stepping out the door.  And a simple question from my mom, “Are you going to church tomorrow?” got my feet moving.

Thank God for surrounding me with such awesome ladies of the Faith.  I stepped out the door last Sunday and was so warmly welcomed back into church that I can’t remember why I wanted to stay away.

It happened just in time too because one other strong tug on my heart is to be baptized this year.  At Sunday’s service they announced the church picnic and water baptisms will be held Aug. 16.  And I plan to be baptized then.  God is truly amazing!

This also illustrates just how sneaky Satan can be.  If I had stayed away from church just one or two more Sundays, who knows if I would have given up on being baptized this year or not?  Who knows if staying home would be just that much more comfortable for the long haul than going to church?  Who knows if I would ever build up the courage again to go back regularly?  I’d like to think I would but anytime we’re forced to step outside our comfort zones, it can go either way.

God is definitely a mover and a shaker.  He isn’t stagnant.  The other on-going issue He is helping me overcome is my unhealthy relationship with food.  When God says enough…He means enough.  I’m focusing on a strict low cal. diet to get healthy again and for some reason (HIM) tracking calories has been effortless and the weight is melting off.  I’m working on making better food choices and He is removing my old cravings as I go.

When you surrender and trust God, amazing things can and do happen!

So that is what’s happening in my world and it’s just the tip of the iceberg.  I didn’t even mention the medical miracles happening with various family members….but you get the idea.

He is changing me.  I’m getting a make-over.  I’m filled with His love.  He provides for all my needs.  And it’s all FREE.

I am truly blessed.  Praise God!

8 thoughts on “Quick Update…

  1. GeoJono

    Thanks for sharing this! I love hearing how God is working in the lives of my brothers and sisters. As a food-habit-struggling introvert myself, I can easily relate to a lot of things you’ve mentioned and your post is an encouragement to read.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

