Martyr


rocksMartyr

Confusion and chaos surround me
where once there was peace
I see the beauty of God’s creation
twisted by hatred and sin.
I withdraw and seek balance within
as my mind and heart cry out for my Master.

My heart cries, “Is this Your will my Lord?”
“Am I to be martyred for Your Truth?
Am I to die at the hands of my brothers
because they are blind and hard-hearted?
The same whose fathers persecuted the prophets?”
And He sheltered my mind from the blows.

My eyes are on my Lord and I can see Him.
The image sharper and clearer than ever.
I feel the pain in my body and it’s unreal.
Disconnected sensations wash over me.
My Savior is so close and so bright
I am at peace, with forgiveness on my lips.

Inspired by Acts 7:51-60
The stoning of Stephen

Leave a Reply

