2 Samuel 7:12-16


12 When your days are complete and you lie down with your fathers, I will raise up your [a]descendant after you, who will come forth from [b]you, and I will establish his kingdom.

13 He shall build a house for My name, and I will establish the throne of his kingdom forever.

14 I will be a father to him and he will be a son to Me; when he commits iniquity, I will correct him with the rod of men and the strokes of the sons of men,

15 but My lovingkindness shall not depart from him, as I took it away from Saul, whom I removed from before you.

16 Your house and your kingdom shall endure before [c]Me forever; your throne shall be established forever.”’”

https://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=2+Samuel+7%3A12-16&version=NASB


I ran across a bit of confusion with this part of 2 Samuel.  This excerpt is the prophet Nathan speaking to King David after a vision was given from God.  King David wanted to build a temple for the ark of God.

Verse 12 begins with a reassurance from God that a descendant of David would be raised up and a kingdom established.  When I first read this my mind thought of Solomon and possibly Jesus later on.

Verse 13 begins with he shall build a house for My Name…ok, my mind is definitely thinking of Solomon now.  But then it continues with, “…and I will establish the throne of his kingdom forever.”  Ok…now I’m thinking Jesus again.

Verse 14  I will be a father to him and he will be a son to Me … now this could be speaking of either Solomon or Jesus depending on how you read it.

when he commits iniquity…. this would fit for Solomon but not Jesus.

I will correct him with the rod of men and the strokes of the sons of men… Back to Solomon again.  God did not have to “correct” Jesus, however Jesus was scourged before hanging on the cross when He became sin.

Verse 15  Assures David that God would not take away His lovingkindness like He did from Saul.  This brings me back to Solomon again.

Verse 16 Your house and your kingdom shall endure before [c]Me forever; your throne shall be established forever… Again, either Solomon or Jesus.


In order to make sense of these verses I really needed some “extra” help and so I went online and looked up a few commentaries and it really helped me to understand these verses a little better.   http://www.biblestudytools.com/commentaries/gills-exposition-of-the-bible/2-samuel-7-12.html

I’m not super comfy yet with Typology in the Bible, in fact, I still don’t fully understand it yet but I’m learning a little bit more as I go along.

I won’t reinvent the wheel trying to explain this when I don’t fully grasp it myself but this link is helpful.  http://www.theopedia.com/Biblical_typology

Leave a Reply

