Snuggling up with the Word


t_Bibles032

As some of you have noticed, I haven’t been posting everyday like I did when starting this blog and there is a reason for that.

I’ve been immersing myself in the Word lately.

When I began this blog, it started as a way for me to jot down my own studies for future reference, but as I went along a couple weeks, gaining a few followers, it turned into something else.  And that isn’t a bad thing at all.

Anyone who blogs does it so that others may enjoy their thoughts.

But that is what I don’t want.  I don’t want others to enjoy MY thoughts.  I want others to enjoy God’s Word.

In my journey to become another outlet for God’s Word, another “browsing moment” for unknown neighbors, my own enjoyment of God’s Word got pushed to the backburner as I was rushing around looking for the perfect verse for that cool picture that would look great on “my” blog.

ERROR – insert pride?

Suddenly, my focus wasn’t on God anymore.  It wasn’t on God’s Word anymore, though it may look it like it from the blog.  It was on how I could use God’s Word to look best for a blog.

Wow…how crappy is that?

So … that is why I haven’t been posting everyday anymore.

I have begun a reading plan that takes 3-4 chapters of the Old Testament and pairs it with 1-2 chapters of the New Testament per day that will have me reading through the Bible by the end of the year.  I am excited and happy and loving every minute of it.

I remember, right after I became a believer in 2013, reading through the entire Bible in 3 months.  Cover to cover, beginning to the end.  I remember thinking how awesome the Bible really is.  It is full of action and drama, history, love, friendships, lessons to be learned, miracles etc.  It truly is an awesome book to read.  And when you pair that with the knowledge of our Savior Jesus and a loving Heavenly Father, well…it just doesn’t get any better than that.

After that rapid fire reading, I spent most of my time researching this or that.  I spent some time with apologetics books.

I tried my hand at daily devotionals but they never seem to hit my mood right.  Like when I’m feeling my “singleness” the reading will invariably be about the loving relationship between Abraham and Sarah or some other awesome couple or the Song of Solomon.  Like I really need to have my nose rubbed in it!

I know Daily Devotionals and Verses aren’t “horrorscopes” and such but you’d think at least 1 day out of a year it would match your mood and be the perfect thing for you that day!

Maybe I expect too much  LOL.

All this jumping around and piece reading and choice picking verses and such, took away the simple pleasure and enjoyment I experience when I curl up on the couch, just God’s Word and me.  I hold no expectations of major revelations or miraculous epiphanies.  I simply want to snuggle up with my Heavenly Father and let His Words wrap me up and rest in my heart.

So I’m doing just that.

I’ll be posting here and there but it won’t be on a daily basis.

I hope everyone has a  !

Our God is Alive, He is Risen

2 thoughts on “Snuggling up with the Word

  1. GeoJono

    Very well said! I’m glad to see that when you noticed your perspective drifting (it did NOT show on you blog, by the way) you were quick to correct it and get back to your first love. That’s a great reminder to us all. Thanks for sharing it.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

