John 20:15-17


 Jesus *said to her, “Woman, why are you weeping? Whom are you seeking?” Supposing Him to be the gardener, she *said to Him, “Sir, if you have carried Him away, tell me where you have laid Him, and I will take Him away.” 16 Jesus *said to her, “Mary!” She turned and *said to Him in [a]Hebrew, “Rabboni!” (which means, Teacher). 17 Jesus *said to her, “Stop clinging to Me, for I have not yet ascended to the Father; but go to My brethren and say to them, ‘I ascend to My Father and your Father, and My God and your God.’”


I am actually reading in Genesis and Matthew this past week but as I was reading, my mind kept straying to Mary Magdalene.  Specifically when she was at the empty tomb.

Here she was, weeping over the missing body of Jesus.   She looks in the tomb and there are two angels inside who asked her why she was crying.  In her distress and grief she did answer them but then turned away and began talking to someone else, who she thought was the gardener.

First of all, Mary would have had to be out of her head in panic and grief to turn away from angels who were speaking to her!  So my only thought here is that maybe she didn’t recognize them as angels?  Not sure, but she did turn away from them and start talking with the one she thought was the “gardener”.

It wasn’t until Jesus said her name, “Mary” that she recognized Him as Jesus.

What keeps sparking in the back of my head, and what kept straying into my thoughts earlier this morning is this:

That happened to me too.

Not that I was ever standing outside Jesus’ empty tomb or that I physically was standing in the presence of Jesus or angels.

But it happened to me too…that I didn’t recognize Jesus as the way the truth and the life, as the Son of God, as my Savior and Lord… until He called me and I knew without a doubt that Jesus knew my name.

Until He called me, I was left blind to Him.  I could have been having conversations with Him everyday of my life, but I didn’t recognize WHO I was talking to.

Mary Magdalene didn’t recognize who she was talking to either, until Jesus called her by name.


On a side note:

I’ve read various places where people teach that Mary Magdalene was a prostitute and/or married to Jesus.  No where does it say that in the Bible and not sure where that came from.  She had 7 demons cast out of her, so she probably had some kind of illness and was healed.  She was a well-known and documented follower of Jesus Christ.  She was there for the crucifixion and the resurrection of Jesus Christ and was mentioned many times in the Biblical accounts.

People seem to love spreading rumors about others or casting doubts about other people’s characters.  No one alive today knew Mary Magdalene.  To speculate and spread rumors on her role in Jesus’ ministry and life, other than what is documented, is just wrong.

One thought on “John 20:15-17

  1. GeoJono

    “…until He called me and I knew without a doubt that Jesus knew my name.”

    Amen! It’s a wonderful moment, isn’t it? Would that more and more of our family, friends, and neighbors know that moment as well!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

