James 1:5


ierff

James 1:5

But if any of you lacks wisdom, let him ask of God, who gives to all generously and without reproach, and it will be given to him.

So it doesn’t take a genius to understand that where there is smoke, there is high probability of fire.

That being the case, why are humans the total Masters of Excuses?  No other species on earth pulls excuses out of thin air like humans do!

And we don’t just give excuses for our own behaviors, we actually go out of our way to make up excuses for others too!  How thoughtful we are!

I am all for giving a person the “benefit of the doubt” in cases where there is a lack of proof or when explanations given make sense in the situation.

But…

Where there is smoke, there is fire.

Apply this to yourself first.  Take 1 week in your life and examine your actions and thoughts and see how many excuses you make for yourself…to yourself and to God.

These can be as little as, “I know I shouldn’t eat that whole tub of popcorn, but I walked super fast up the stairs today so I’ve earned it.”  Or maybe, “I’m just going to check on my blog while on company time…I didn’t take a full break today so it’s OK.”

Or maybe it’s more of a thought while driving, “Stupid driver, where did they learn to drive?”  This one doesn’t count because I didn’t really say it out loud!  Or how about this thought, “Wow, she’s ugly”  that doesn’t count either because what I actually said was, “have a nice day!”

So many excuses surround us everyday and get in the way of our ability to love our neighbors as ourselves and get in the way of being true to Him who has saved us.

How many excuses have you thought of just reading this?

4 thoughts on “James 1:5

  1. ladygardeenya

    I’m totally convicted but you are the one making excuses for me. I’m eating everything in sight lately and you are telling me that I earned it by not eating much for awhile. We both know better. I have to get off the munchies and do it soon or I will be rolling around the house instead of walking. Was this our conversation last night? lol

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Tawni Post author

      This was our conversation from last night and I spent a long time mulling it over in my head and recognizing how many excuses I make for myself and everyone I love! Yep, I’m convicted.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

