Philippians 4:8


htpix


My sister has a blog where she “doodles” verses and it’s really a neat thing to see.  You can see it here:  https://versedoodles.wordpress.com/  Anyway, she happened to doodle this verse.  The minute I looked at her blog and saw this verse, memories started flooding my head.

While I didn’t go into in-depth detail in my testimony on here…my past has some very dark times in it.  I lived very much in the flesh and in and of the world prior to accepting Jesus.

This verse was one that I held tight to when facing and overcoming those dark memories.  Even after coming to faith, when the dark creeps up on me out of the blue, this is a verse I go to for strength, for that little extra boost to focus my mind on light and beauty.  To help keep me on the right path.


We live in such a fallen world.

Our senses are flooded with movies and books like 50 Shades of Grey, Pretty Woman, The Story of O, The Chronicles of Gor and others.  Online chat services and dating websites catering to every kind of BDSM, kink and fetish imaginable, all focused on the flesh and maximizing personal pleasure and pleasure from pain and endorsing physical pain as a way to avoid emotional pain.

From glamorizing eating disorders to dehumanizing women (and don’t forget the men too!), it’s amazing anyone is able to have a “normal” relationship.

In psychology, desensitization is defined as the diminished emotional responsiveness to a negative or aversive stimulus after repeated exposure to it.  http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Desensitization_(psychology)

This desensitization is exactly what I experienced living the lifestyle that I choose to live.  The more exposure to it that I had, the less and less sensitive to it I was until it became “normal” to me.

What started out as perverse and abnormal, over time became my new reality.

This happens to many people.

Whether it is a lifestyle choice of risky behavior, or addictions in any form, or relationships that are abusive and destructive…pick your poison…you experience desensitization.

The worst thing about it is that once you experience something, you can’t “un-experience” it.  You can’t cry out, “DO OVER!”  Even though you are screaming inside to do just that.  Once you see something, do something, feel something…you can’t “un-see, un-do, or un-feel” it.

What’s done is done.

I can’t count the number of times I heard the phrase, “You made your bed now lie in it”… this coming from “friends”.   So I did.  And I shut off feeling anything for a long time.


God has put each of us in various situations, locations.  His hand is in everything.  No matter what you have experienced in the past; no matter what you may be experiencing now; no matter what your individual situation is now…hold tight to this verse.

Finally, brethren, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is of good repute, if there is any excellence and if anything worthy of praise, dwell on these things.

This verse will remind you that there still is light, though you may not see it.  There is still honor and rightness in this world.  There is still purity and beauty and goodness.  There is still excellence and One worthy of praise.

If your situation seems hopeless and you are lost in the darkness for whatever reason…this verse tells us there IS hope.

If you’ve been trained to accept wrong as right…it can be put right again.  First focus your mind on this verse, and pretty soon your heart will follow.


There is One who is waiting for you with open arms.  In His hands is an unimaginable strength that will never hurt you, but will protect you.  If you consent, He will change you from the inside out and you will feel again.  He will show you the Truth and you will break, but He will rebuild you once again.  In Him, you will find the love that will fill up the emptiness inside of you.

His Name is Jesus Christ, and He will save you if you let Him.

I pray that you will let Him~

6 thoughts on “Philippians 4:8

  1. GeoJono

    Thanks, Tawni, for your very open and honest post. It rings so true for me as well as I think on my own past. But, as you have stated here and before, God seeks to save people regardless of their past. And once saved, he changes them. He changed me (though the struggles are still there) and I am so glad he did.

    Though the context was culture instead of individuals, I remember Greg Koukl quoting Francis Schaeffer regarding desensitization: “What was unthinkable yesterday is thinkable today and commonplace tomorrow.”

    I believe that’s true (and maybe even inevitable) of individuals unless changed and protected by our great Savior.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Tawni Post author

      Jono, that quote from Francis Schaeffer totally nails the meaning of desensitization! Thank you! And you are so right that it is inevitable unless changed and protected by our great Savior. I look around our world and see what is “normal” today and have to shut my eyes now and then!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. Tara D

    “This verse will remind you that there still is light, though you may not see it. There is still honor and rightness in this world. There is still purity and beauty and goodness. There is still excellence and One worthy of praise.”

    Perfect words as usual! (HUGS)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Tawni Post author

      Thank you for reading it! laughs…I am so blessed to have you as my Mom and to have Tara as my sister…I don’t think there are 2 more supportive people in the entire world…God is good!

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

