Proverbs 15:1


Father angry at boy for making a mess

Proverbs 15:1

A gentle answer turns away wrath,
But a harsh word stirs up anger.


A lot of kids learn this at an early age.  When they get in trouble they know to immediately be super respectful and show remorse.  They know to bite their tongues and apologize and that makes their parents anger go away quicker.

I remember doing it with my own parents when I was younger.

Unfortunately, my boys never did learn this.

My two boys (one is grown now, the other is 7) never figured out this skill and I’m not sure why.  When either one of them get angry, frustrated, or feel guilty about something, whoever is within reach better put up their guard!  The tongues are sharp, biting and loud and the fists and feet start flying in anger.  (Thank goodness the older one learned control of his fists and feet!) I can’t count the number of split lips, bite marks, punches, kicks and pinches I’ve suffered through with the boys while they learn to control their anger.  It’s tough being a single mom!  Their Nana, suffered right alongside me and took her share of the bumps and bruises too.

Of course, I am not blameless in this.  Depending on the situation, my boys pushed the wrong buttons with me and set me off too.  When I should have gentled my voice a bit to prevent an out of control episode, I pushed with a harsh word or yelled back at them.  It is still something I am working on and failing at daily.

Such a simple verse…and yet such a HARD lesson to learn!

I did however, have a success tonight!  Praise God!  I was doing my Miss Fixitup thingy in the kitchen and attempting to hang one of those broom/mop racks on the wall.  Well, I was faced with lots of frustration because the cordless drill wasn’t charged (which by the way, I’ve never actually gotten to use the thing because every time I need it, it isn’t charged!).  But hey!  That was ok and I didn’t get angry like I wanted to.

Then of course my younger son wants to “help” and grabs and takes out all the tools in the tools cupboard, but I didn’t lose my cool either!

Then pounding the plastic drywall thingy into the wall, one of them bent in half…hey…no problem.  ~laughs~

I am so not handy!  But I do try.  Anyway, I finally got the thing on the wall and the brooms and stuff stuck into it and the tools all put away…ALL without losing my cool!  So that is a SUCCESS!  Praise God!

So this little bible study verse is one that is near and dear to my heart because it is such a hard lesson for me and mine.  I am going to work on finding at least one time each day where I substitute the harsh words in my mind with a gentle word instead.

Who knows?  Maybe it’ll become a habit!

4 thoughts on “Proverbs 15:1

  1. Tara D

    I can so relate to this. It is something that I am working on daily as well. Amazing how easy it is to spout of something, or snap back a quick remark and how hard it is to bridle that tongue!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Tawni Post author

      Well, when I come visit we can help each other…just stand real close to me and I’ll slap my hand over your mouth and you can slap yours over mine…then we’ll be just fine! lmao Hugs Sis!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Leave a Reply

