1 Peter 5:14


grwnj

Throughout the New Testament we are told to fellowship.  We are told to greet one another by name.  We are told to not forsake the brethren.  We are told to give preference to one another in honor.

When I read the Epistles, these letters from one believer to another, I am struck by how devoted these early believers were to each other and to Christ.

How loving and thoughtful and caring they were.

The way the letters are written, the words each carefully chosen, the themes pondered for days and probably weeks and maybe months before setting pen to paper…how painstaking a task that must have been back when communication was written and delivered by foot and unsure.

I contrast how these early believers were so open with one another, and see the words they used on each other and then look at my email.

Can I just take a moment and mourn for the lost art of letter writing?

I am guilty of the same.  I do not take the time to think through my words, to make sure they convey exactly what I want them to.  To make sure that my words both encourage and instruct and convey my love for other believers.  Our communications are now short and sweet, politically correct and to the point because let’s face it, no one wants to send a long message that someone else will have to wade through while on their smart phone right?

We don’t bless others.  We don’t share the promises of our Lord with one another.

Fellowship is limited to a short break time at church where people grab a cup of coffee and make “small talk” with others making sure to not break into any deep conversations that might be uncomfortable to get out of.

Jesus said that others will know us if we have love for one another.

But how can they when we never show it.

May the Lord bless you and keep you in His perfect love.  Though the world may persecute you, though you may be journeying through various trials, remember our Lord and Savior understands, He is your strength.  Things of this world are temporary, but the free gift of eternal life with God is forever to those who choose the way, the truth and the life, Jesus Christ.

2 thoughts on “1 Peter 5:14

  1. ladygardeenya

    Where has the ‘ministering’ gone that used to be the mainstay of the church.  I remember when I was little and every adult in the church would make sure and greet us when we arrived and would make us feel special.  Today, a few will greet, then allow you to sit alone through the entire service without making sure you are not feeling alone.  Church used to be where you went to feel welcome, not to be made to feel you aren’t part of the cliques that are already formed.  It feels like you are not accepted until someone finally goes out of their way to let you know that they value your presence on a regular basis.  The church is a family.  The family needs to surround its people with love.  A family knows its members and knows their needs. A family draws in the shy ones and makes sure they are  not feeling left out.  A family tones down the attention hogs and makes sure they don’t bully the weaker members.   Churches today don’t seem to be much like families anymore or to care as much for its members.  They are more about ‘the groups that have always been’ and it is sad..

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Tawni Post author

      This is a good point and should be addressed at many churches. The “art of conversation” seems to be lost and I confess, I’m horrible at it myself. I’m awful at going up to strangers and starting conversations that could lead to a friendship. Usually, I’m lucky if I get to smile and say “hello”. I’m not alone in my “shyness”.

      I was never that good at making friends as a teenager either. I’d have 1 or 2 good friends of my own but never got real close to anyone else. It’s tougher as an adult and yet it was tough back then too. I just don’t know how anyone goes about breaking through the shallowness of small talk.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

