Romans Chapter 10


Romans Chapter 10
My new system for Bible Study:
  1. Names of God/Jesus/Holy Spirit (I underline these in purple)
  2. Christian commandments and tips and advice on how to live as a follower of Christ. (I put a green star in the margin and use green parenthesis.)
  3. Sins and actions not worthy of believers (here I make an upside down triangle in the margin in black and also use parenthesis in the text.)
  4. References to the passion of the Christ, His sacrifice and any references that have to do with salvation (I mark a red cross in the margin and use red parenthesis).
  5. God’s love and mercy and grace (pink heart of course and also pink parenthesis)
  6. Future events and promises, things that we won’t know “for sure” until we die (open blue arrow and blue parenthesis
And this is how that system played out for me with Chapter 10:
But first I did a word study at http://www.biblestudytools.com/nas/ and found one that is cool and interesting. The word in the text is “disappointed” and appears also in Matthew when Peter was denying Christ 3 times and then the rooster crowed. It said he cursed and swore. The word “cursed” is the same word Kataischuno. Used in verse 11 here in Romans it says…”Whoever believes in Him will not be disappointed”. So believers won’t be dishonored or disgraced, we won’t be put to shame or ashamed and hope has not deceived us. Whoever believes in Him will NOT be disappointed (Kataishchuno). Cool!
Kataischuno
The NAS New Testament Greek Lexicon
 Strong’s Number:   2617
Original Word
Word Origin
kataiscuno
from (2596) and (153)
Transliterated Word
TDNT Entry
Kataischuno
1:189,29
Phonetic Spelling
Parts of Speech
kat-ahee-skhoo’-no
Verb
 Definition
  1. to dishonour, disgrace
  2. to put to shame, make ashamed
    1. to be ashamed, blush with shame
    2. one is said to be put to shame who suffers a repulse, or whom some hope has deceived
#1
The word “God” is Theos which is a generic title reference for The Triune God. The word “Lord” is Kurios referencing God the Messiah. Christ is Christos referencing God the Messiah. What’s in a name right? Verse 13 says “Whoever will CALL on the NAME of the LORD will be SAVED (emphasis mine)”. The word NAME is interesting:
Onoma
The NAS New Testament Greek Lexicon
 Strong’s Number:   3686
Original Word
Word Origin
onoma
from a presumed derivative of the base of (1097) (cf (3685))
Transliterated Word
TDNT Entry
Onoma
5:242,694
Phonetic Spelling
Parts of Speech
on’-om-ah
Noun Neuter
 Definition
  1. name: univ. of proper names
  2. the name is used for everything which the name covers, everything the thought or feeling of which is aroused in the mind by mentioning, hearing, remembering, the name, i.e. for one’s rank, authority, interests, pleasure, command, excellences, deeds etc.
  3. persons reckoned up by name
  4. the cause or reason named: on this account, because he suffers as a Christian, for this reason
There’s a lot to a name, especially the NAME of the LORD (see #2 above).
#2
So I went back and read it again looking for advice, tips etc.
  • vs 1 Starts right out with Paul continuing from the previous chapter. He tells his brethren his hearts desire and his prayer to God for them is for their salvation. Their salvation is utmost on his mind and in his prayers. He thinks of others first. When I think of a “Christian” this is what I think they should be like. It’s something I want to see more of in myself. The caring about others in things that matters most like their eternal life.
  • Vs 15 How beautiful are the feet of those who bring good news of good things! I want to have beautiful feet too! 🙂
#3
Then I went through and read again to look for actions not cool for believers:
  • vs 2-3 Paul says they have a zeal for God but not in accordance with knowledge. The word knowledge her means (true knowledge, not something false). For not knowing about God’s righteousness and seeking to establish their own, they did not subject themselves to the righteousness of God. Paul is referring to the Jews here because that is who he is addressing however, this is an example that holds true for Jew or Gentile alike. When reading through the online comments of various news articles I see this in play quite a bit. People who, I would agree have such a zeal for God and yet they twist God’s words to fit whatever argument they are making at the time. While not exactly what Paul is referencing here, it made me think of that example. The Jews here do have zeal for God. But their zeal was rooted in their own idea of what God would deem righteous rather than the knowledge of God’s righteousness. Churches that have a lot of “rules and regs and doctrinal statements” that are not backed up by relevant Scripture are just like these zealous Jews Paul is addressing. While striving for God’s approval to be deemed righteous, they fail to measure up their actions/rituals/beliefs with God’s Word.
  • Vs 21 But as for Israel He says, “All the day long I have stretched out My hands to a disobedient and obstinate people.” Ouch! I want to be zealous for God and I want to have that passion and inner light shine for all men to see but I want it in accordance with God’s will and in His time and His way. I am GLAD God is in control and I am so thankful His people Israel were obstinate and disobedient because truthfully? If they hadn’t been, God may not have opened His heart to us. While I don’t understand how Israel can continue to reject their own Messiah, I love them because it is because of them that I receive Jesus Christ today. I pray for His people Israel that they will receive their Messiah according to God’s will. This shows me one facet of God, of how patient and merciful He truly is. That He continues to hold His hand out to a people who reject Him.
#4
Looking at Christ’s works and our salvation now:
  • vs 9-13 These verses are the most quoted when relating to someone how to be “saved” (non-catholic religions). That if you confess with your mouth Jesus as Lord and believe in your heart that God raised Him from the dead, you will be saved. For with the heart a person believes resulting in righteousness and with the mouth he confesses resulting in salvation. From these verses come what is known as the “Sinners Prayer”. The “prayer” itself can take on many forms but if you believe and confess (2 pronged thing here) you will be saved. We believe in faith alone for salvation but that is kind of misleading until it is understood further. There is action involved. Believe in your heart (faith), but you must also confess with your mouth (action). Just like good works naturally follow and prove a persons faith, so also does action follow faith in becoming saved.
#5
Love of God verses…these verses made me feel good 🙂
  • vs 4 – For Christ is the end of the law for righteousness to everyone who believes.
  • vs 12 – 13 For there is no distinction between Jew and Greek; for the same Lord is Lord of all, abounding in riches for all who call on Him; for WHOEVER WILL CALL ON THE NAME OF THE LORD WILL BE SAVED.
  • Vs 20 And Isaiah is very bold and says, “I WAS FOUND BY THOSE WHO DID NOT SEEK ME, I BECAME MANIFEST TO THOSE WHO DID NOT ASK FOR ME.”
#6
Future events, promises .. things we won’t know til later:
  • vs 4
  • vs 9-13

vs 14-21 I didn’t address much in my study because it didn’t really “fit” with my categories. In these verses Paul asks questions over and over like he truly can’t believe that anyone hearing God’s word could still reject the Messiah. But that is exactly what the Jews have done and still do to this day. Paul is almost sarcastic in his questions here.

It wasn’t so long ago that I didn’t believe in Jesus Christ as my Savior either. It seems the minute I accepted and believed I forgot how I ever could have NOT believed in the first place. It seems foreign.

At first there were feelings of how could I be so stupid to not see the truth all these years but over the past year those thoughts have faded to the point where I can’t remember much about my life BEFORE I believed. It’s strange. It’s alien.

I have a hard time understanding non-believers, how they can hear the same words I do and still NOT believe. I think they are just being stubborn on purpose or purposefully being stupid or something. Because the truth is so vivid to me now.  And yet, as a non-believers they can’t understand why I DO believe and think I’m purposefully being stubborn. We truly have a communication barrier when it comes to faith. I don’t know how to breach it and through prayer I’ve accepted that it’s not up to me. It’s up to God. It’s like we are speaking two different languages. Non-believers are speaking the language I spoke for 40 years and overnight have forgotten.  I try very hard, when speaking to non-believers, to remember how I used to be so that I can communicate in an understanding and loving way.  And it would be impossible without God.

I remember reading the Bible before I believed and not understanding it. I remember not retaining any of it and after I truly believed reading the Bible as if I’ve never read it before. There were books in the Bible I truly had never heard of before. How funny that God really does give believers new eyes to see. It reminds me of the Left Behind series  http://leftbehind.com/ and the seal of God on believers foreheads that ONLY other believers could see. Their non-believing friends thought they were lying about it. LOL (I’m re-reading the series again now which is why comes to mind so easily.) I don’t ever want to be blind and numb again.
Leave a Reply

